We're Ready to
Help You File a Claim
Start the process today by contacting us for a free consultation.
Providing Proper Notice to The Employer in A Missouri Workers’ Compensation Case
March 3, 2022
It is very important that you as the injured worker provide proper and timely notice to your employer of the work accident or occupational disease. Missouri law requires that you provide written notice of the time, place and nature of the injury, and the name and address of the person injured to the employer no later than 30 days after the accident unless the employer was not prejudiced by the failure to receive the notice. What constitutes being "prejudiced" is a legal question. This notice must be given within 30 days of the diagnosis of the condition.
At the time of providing the notice, it is also advisable to request medical treatment be provided by the employer. It is your responsibility to request medical treatment. Your employer (or its' workers' compensation insurance company) has the right to decide where you can go for medical treatment.